Absolute Darkness

So here’s something different. Last year, I turned down Focal Press for a second edition ofBLOCK
Rig it Right, my apologies for those wanting to see the node editor in that book.  I had another project that I was in the midst of that had to be completed – for me.

A fiction book titled “Absolute Darkness.”
Coming soon to Amazon and Kindle.

I’ve written fiction since as long as I can remember. My first manuscripts being on a manual typewriter – that clues you into how long. I hated all of them and burned them, literally, once I got to around the second re-write stage. Then I’d start another, then another; collecting characters in sketchbooks and plot lines, drawn out on the back of gift wrapping paper all rolled up in my closet.

Along the way I started writing text books to help get those demons out of my head but they never quenched the ongoing list of characters that begged for life.

A few years ago, a group of colleagues and I created the “Shitty Writer’s Club”. All of them are amazing professionals, tops in their own respective fields. Yet, each of us had a passion to write fiction and were held back by our own successes.  What if our work sucked? How could we put our name on something subpar? So, in this club our rule is – it’s ok to suck. That was it – release to fail. It is amazing what you can accomplish when you do not fear failure.  And of course, one could always publish under a pen name  if it was a real stinker.

With that bravado – I will be self publishing a fiction novel under my own name.  It might be awful, I don’t know. I enjoyed writing it, re-writing it and this time – did not burn it.

Why did this one not receive a Viking’s funeral?
1) I was held accountable by The Shitty Writer’s Club.
2) I enlisted an editor who I knew would be brutal, honest and was waiting for that manuscript.
3) It was allowed to suck. There’s plenty out there that does. It’s ok.  I don’t think it sucks horribly, actually. I like this one. I’ve learned a lot over the years and have more to learn.

I’m working on the cover (the image with this blog is not the cover) and book description now and will post updates soon.

For now, here’s what you need to know: cavers, energy being drawn to destroy the universe, time traveling vampire who must spend eternity keeping the universe from being destroyed, time crossed lovers, multiple time lines that must all funnel into one locked moment of death.    Time travel, gore, romance, caving: vertical, horizontal and cave-diving – you get it all!

Watch for updates!

If you are considering self publishing – let me point you to a book that has been invaluable to me. I had my hand held through a lot with Focal Press, so going it alone was something new and I needed guidance.  I highly recommend this book:

“CreateSpace & Kindle Self-Publishing Masterclass” by Rick Smith
https://read.amazon.com/kp/card?asin=B00GK5NKGU&asin=B00GK5NKGU&preview=inline&linkCode=kpe&ref_=cm_sw_r_kb_dp_ekfYxb4ZHBGHJ

Of all the things I’ve done – this is the scariest.

warmly,

…tina

This entry was posted in Absolute Darkness. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Absolute Darkness

  1. Nick Stephas says:

    I’ll keep an eye out for “Absolute Darkness”. It sounds like something I’d enjoy!

Leave a Reply

